Home / Sport / 2021 Indy 500 Winner: Hélio Castroneves wins record-breaking fourth-place Indianapolis 500 by joining Unser, Mears, Foyt.

2021 Indy 500 Winner: Hélio Castroneves wins record-breaking fourth-place Indianapolis 500 by joining Unser, Mears, Foyt.

For the 105th run of The Greatest Spectacle in Racing, the youth movement of IndyCar racing looked poised to begin writing its own chapter in the history of the Indianapolis 500. It was also a famous person who added to his legacy. It’s one of the biggest indie competitions ever.

20 years after the first Indianapolis 500 victory, IndyCar legend Helio Castronev beat Alex. Young Palou took his fourth Indianapolis 500 victory, breaking the all-time record for victory in the 500-mile race. Palou came in second, followed by Simon Pagenaud, Pato O’Ward, Ed Carpenter, Santino Ferrucci, Sage. Karam, Rinus VeeKay, Juan Pablo Montoya and Tony Kanaan

Castroneves became the fourth driver in history to win the Indianapolis 500 four times, joining Rick Mears, Al Unser and AJ Foyt, while becoming the fourth driver aged 46+ to win (Al Unser. , Bobby Unser, Emerson Fittipaldi) Castroneves̵

7; victory also marks his first drive for Meyer Shank Racing, having won three Indianapolis 500s before that (2001, 2002, 2009) for Team Penske.

At 46, Castroneves took the final lap to switch back the lead and fourth with 24-year-old Palou immediately overtaking him by two laps to take the lead for the last time. With a traffic jam in the final, Castroneves was able to keep Palou from running. He grabbed the checkered flag and sparked a merry post-match celebration. This includes his signature “Spiderman” celebration of climbing the netting fence.

“I don’t know if this is a good comparison, but Tom Brady won the Super Bowl, Phil Mickelson won The Masters and now let’s go. Old people still understand and kick young ass, you know, we’re teaching them a lesson!” Castroneves told NBC Sports in Victory Lane.

Sunday’s race is the fastest Indianapolis 500 race in history. As the race was slowed by only two times, two record low warnings, both crashes in the race involved pit road: Stefan Wilson crashed on pit road during flag pitting. Green first lap and Graham Rahal crashed on the second turn coming out of the pit after an improperly secured wheel had come off. Rahal’s tire ended up bouncing off the pit. Conor Daly’s car caused damage to the Indiana’s front wing. and effectively ended his chances of victory after taking the lead over the course of a day.

While Castroneves enjoyed his Indy 500 victory, it was a tough day for another great IndyCar in Scott Dixon after starting from pole. Dixon ran out of fuel during the first race for an unexpected warning. Lost a lap after his car would not fire again. Scott McLaughlin, who drove the same No. 3 Penske team as Castroneves for many years, won the Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year.

Source link