Home / Sport / After a memorable regular season for the Edmonton Oilers, Connor McDavid won the Hart Trophy unanimously as NHL MVP.

After a memorable regular season for the Edmonton Oilers, Connor McDavid won the Hart Trophy unanimously as NHL MVP.

Edmonton Oilers star Connor McDavid won the Hart Trophy as the NHL’s Most Valuable Player, becoming the second player in its 97-year history to win unanimously.

McDavid took first place on all 100 ballot papers from the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association. Previously, only Wayne Gretzky won at Hart unanimously in 1981-82, including with the Oilers.

Toronto Maple Leafs Center of Austin Matthews received 69 second place votes and came second in the vote for McDavid Colorado Avalanche Center Nathan MacKinnon was third. McDavid also received the Ted Lindsay award. Award as NHLPA’s most outstanding player Matthews and Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby as finalist for Lindsay.

McDavid leads the NHL with 1

05 points in 56 games. His 1.88-point-per-game average is the 22nd best in NHL history and the highest since Mario Lemieux’s 2.30 point average per game in 1995-96. McDavid leads the NHL with 72. assistant as well

This is his second Hart Trophy and his third Lindsay Award. Alongside his third NHL scoring title, McDavid’s Hart Trophy victory was followed by team-mate Leon Draisaitl last season. The Oilers are the first team to have a different Hart Trophy winner in consecutive seasons since the Boston Bruins in 1968-69 (Phil Esposito) and 1969-70 (Bobby Orr)

Voting for other awards, Vegas Golden Knights goalkeeper Marc-Andre Fleury received his first Vezina Trophy as the NHL’s top goalkeeper. This was Fleury’s first time nomination for the award after 17 seasons. In the NHL with the Vegas Golden Knights and Pittsburgh Penguins, he was nominated on 30 out of 31 ballots and was picked 14 by the NHL general manager who voted for the award.

Andrei Vasilevskiy, Tampa Bay Lightning goalkeeper, who was nominated for four consecutive seasons and won the 2019 Vezina award, finished second, just 10 points behind Fleury. Colorado Avalanche goalkeeper Philipp Grubauer was third.

“Having a good team in front of me always helps,” said Fleuri, who shared the Jennings trophy with Robin. Lehner said after Vegas allowed the fewest goals in the regular season. “But I just love this game. have a lot of passion I am lucky to be able to do what I enjoy.”

New York Rangers defender Adam Fox has picked up the Norris Trophy as the NHL’s best defender, ahead of Colorado’s Cale Makar and Victor. Hedman of Tampa Bay Lightning, named for the fifth year in a row. Fox was nominated in 99 votes out of 100 ballots, including 40 first choice. Makar was the top choice out of 31 voters.

Fox is the second defender in NHL history to beat Norris in his first or second NHL season after Orr won for the Boston Bruins in 1967-68. This is Fox’s second NHL season, both with Rae. Nger Fox, 23, was one of the defenders in assists (42) and second in points (47).

Minnesota Wild winger Kirill Caprizov defeated Dallas Stars forward Jason Robertson and Carolina goalkeeper Alex Nedeljkovic. The Minnesota winger has 51 points in 55 games, including 27 goals.

There has been little controversy about his candidacy, as some are 24 years old and six seasons playing in Russia’s Kontinental Hockey League before joining the NHL, but that was not reflected in the vote: Kaprizov was the winner at almost unanimous It received 99 votes from the top 100 and one second choice. He received number one vote in the highest Calder ballot from 1992-93 when Winnipeg Jets striker Teemu Selanne was the top choice on all 50 ballots.

The NHL previously announced several awards ahead of Tuesday’s broadcast. Florida Panthers center Alexander Barkov picked up the Selke Trophy for best defensive forward, Carolina Hurricanes defender Jaccob Slavin picked up the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy for gentlemanly play. ‘Amour of Carolina Hurricanes wins Jack Adams Award for Coach of the Year New York Islander Lou La Moriello wins General Manager of the Year Jim Gregory for the second time in a row

Patrice Bergeron Center from Boston The Bruins received the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award, while Nashville Predators goalkeeper Pekka Rinne received the King Clancy Trophy, best exemplifying his leadership qualities both on and off the ice. Oscar Lind Philadelphia Flyers forward Blom was named the winner of the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy for his perseverance and dedication to hockey.

The Professional Hockey Writers Association voted to award Hart, Norris, Calder, Selke and Lady Byng. As the NHL reshuffles teams and only plays within four divisions, PHWA has reduced voting content to 100 for the 2020-21 season: 20 Voters. People for each department and 20 major voters.

Source link