Home / Business / Amazon devices now link your Wi-Fi to your neighbors. How to cancel :: WRAL.com

Amazon devices now link your Wi-Fi to your neighbors. How to cancel :: WRAL.com



Amazon’s reach widened slightly on Tuesday with the launch of a Sidewalk service that borrows bandwidth from customers to build a larger community network.

It’s not unlike a real sidewalk that connects people living in the same neighborhood through shared paths. People who use Amazon technology like the Ring Doorbell or Echo Speaker donate some of their bandwidth to a separate share. network.

“Amazon is trying to separate your network – your home network – and that network is separate. There are three e.Encryption To be truly safe,” said Brooks Seahorn, an Amazon trainer at INE, a computer school in Cary.

The benefit for consumers is that it keeps devices connected even if they are out of personal Wi-Fi range. Seahorn takes the example of a stray dog ​​with an Amazon Tile tracker on its collar.

“If they run up and down the road and everyone has this enabled – and it will be by default – you will be able to find dog Hurry up,” he said, “pretty good.”

However, Seahorn said Amazon “must prove its technology,”

; particularly in regards to privacy.

“There are still a lot of questions about this. And that’s why you see a lot of people go to Alexa. app this time and disable the service until it proves to be slightly better,” he said. “My personal recommendation is to shut it down for the time being. it is brand new Let’s shut it down and see how it works.”

Sidewalks are automatically enabled on Amazon devices, so follow these instructions to disable them:

In the Alexa app:

  • open app
  • Open More and select Settings.
  • Choose Account Settings
  • choose amazon sidewalk
  • Turn off Amazon Sidewalk for your account.

In the Ring app:

  • open app
  • Go to the control center by tapping the three-line icon in the top left corner of the screen.
  • Select the sidewalk and use the toggle icon to opt out.
  • You will be asked to confirm the cancellation. Users can opt back in the same way.

Source link