Home / World / Modi Defeated in West Bengal Battlefield

Modi Defeated in West Bengal Battlefield

TMC supporters celebrate party victory in West Bengal.

TMC supporters were celebrated after their return to power in West Bengal.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi̵

7;s party lost a bid to take over West Bengal’s key state in the regional elections.

The BJP has been heavily targeting West Bengal during the campaign. But it was captured by Mamata Banerjee, a fierce Modi critic.

This party holds power in Assam. But failed to make profit elsewhere

The vote was watched closely for signs of resistance to Mr Modi amid India’s COVID crisis.

Ten days in a row, the daily cases hit a peak of 300,000.On Sunday, India set a new daily death record with 3,689 deaths.Hospitals are grappling with a shortage of beds and medical oxygen by residents. Many Indians are turning to social media for help.

Campaign rallies and ballots have been blamed for the event.

What’s up in bengal

With almost all of the counting results, Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress (TMC) party holds more than 200 seats in the 294 convention.

The result gave Ms. Banerjee a third lead of West Bengal. She is also India’s only female chief minister.

She said West Bengal had “helped” India with the results of the race to celebrate the victory. “It was a victory for the Bengal people, a victory for democracy,” she told supporters.

The victory was affected by the loss of a seat in Nandigram to a former BJP assistant defector, she said she would challenge the outcome of the court decision. But he may have to run one more time to become chief minister

West Bengal, with a population of 90 million, is of particular interest to election watchdogs. It is one of the few states where Modi does not have a majority seat in parliament and has never been ruled by his Hindu nationalist party, BJP.

Despite the defeat, the vote gave the BJP nearly 80 seats to become the main opposition party in West Bengal. In the 2016 ballot, the party received just three seats.

And where else?

As well as the northeastern states of West Bengal and Assam, there is a vote in the southern states of Tamil Nadu and Kerala, Puducherry’s South Indian Union Territory and House Elections. Local in some parts of Uttar Pradesh and Telangana.

In Tamil Nadu, the main opposition parties in the DMK region take power, their leader, MK Stalin, was named to commemorate the late Soviet dictator.

The leftist coalition retains power in Kerala while the BJP-led alliance does not take a seat.

In addition to the coronavirus epidemic, some analysts see results showing the limit of BJP’s Hindu nationalism in states with large Muslim populations.

Source link