Even the New York Mets called Thursday’s 3-2 victory over the Miami Marlins as lucky.
With a base load and another one at the bottom of the ninth after Jeff McNeill scored with a home run leading into the inning, with a 1-2 pitching in the inner corner of the home plate giving. Michael Conforto trimmed his elbow pads as he Lean on the plate to make the Mets win.
Home-plate referee Ron Kulpa began to ring Conforto with a third hit, then changed his middle call to say the treble hit Conforto.
The referee talking on the phone. But Kulpa’s decision still exists under the replay rule, is it called throwing in the hitting zone when it touches the batter, and it is not possible to verify whether the hitter is trying to avoid the hit.
On the other hand, Rule 5.05 (b) (2) states that the hitter is entitled to the first base when he is thrown, unless:
(A) The ball is in the hitting zone when it touches the batter, or (B) the batter does not try to avoid touching the ball. (2) If the ball is in the hitting zone when it touches the batter, it is called a hit regardless of whether the batter tries. Avoid the ball or not. If the ball is outside the hitting area when it touches the batter, it is called a ball if he does not try to avoid it.
After the game, Kulpa, in the pool report, admitted he made the wrong call, saying “The man was thrown in the strike zone, I should have called him out.”;
“It’s not the way I want to win the ballgame,” Conforto said. “I wanted to go up there and drive the ball somewhere. From my point of view, it was a slide. It felt like it was coming back to me. I turned to maybe. There is a slight lift of the elbow because it is not a habit. There was no reaction and it barely came off the edge of my elbow protector, I saw that. [Kulpa] Speed me up, I think that’s why you don’t see any immediate reaction from me. I don’t know what will happen. I know there will be some controversy. Our first base coach yelled at me to go down and touch the base and let’s get out of here. “
Marlins manager Don Mattingly said the referee told him all they could check was whether or not Conforto hitting the pitch, whether Conforto entered the field or not was a call for a judgment.
“I guess the hardest part is that it’s just a simple strike like that,” Mattingly said. ‘That ball is a hit.’ I was wondering what would happen when they put up the auto attack zone and it broke the plane and the guy did that.I wonder if that’s a strike, I guess I’ll wait later. “
McNeil, who turned 29 on Thursday, led the team’s ninth inning opener with Marlins closer to Anthony Bass with a home run to the upper deck in the right court with a bat-flipping.
As for the ending? “That was incredible,” McNeill said. “It just happened to the nickname Conforto, there we took a break and just won the game.”
Conforto said he didn’t know the rules of the play until he saw it on the TV screens in the clubhouse after the game.
“I guess it all came from the call on the pitch,” he said. “I guess the first argument, he called it a strike, and then he said it hit me.”
Luis Rojas, Mets manager, said he thought the judges made the right decision. “I saw the strike, and then I saw the hit by the pitch,” he said. But we will answer the call “
The Mets are happy to send their fans home with a win.
“It’s good to have the fans back,” said Conforto. “Glad to get that atmosphere back. When Jeff hit Homer, the place exploded, roaring from the crowd. We missed that.”
The botched ruling has been accepted by at least one betting site, FanDuel said, is issuing refunds for cassette wagers on Marlins, as well as parlays where Marlins money lines are the only leg to be lost.