There are only two things that life can guarantee us for sure: death and taxes. And while we can’t do anything with the latter. (Or, first of all, for that matter), it is our responsibility to keep you informed of all things technology-related. Today will bring about finding out what happened to you. Google account when you—well, leave the ghost.
Every large platform that offers cloud storage has to regularly deal with users who pass on and leave their accounts behind. Inactive accounts can put a huge burden on the system. Because cloud storage requires expensive server space and maintenance.
Google Inactive Account Manager Google
First of all, Google has created new methods for you to choose from. in advance What will happen to your account? If you decide to go off the grid on a year-long trip to some remote island—or you know you’re going to have to do your best.
The first thing you set in Google Inactive Account Manager is how long you want to let go of inactivity. before the inactive account manager is run. This time can be anywhere between three months to eighteen months until any action is taken
What does inactivity mean?
To indicate inactivity, Google will track when you last signed in to Gmail (mobile app or elsewhere), your recent activity in My Google Activity, as well as your Android device usage logs under your account. that google
You can send an automated email when the time is right.
You can also Include private messages to be sent to the selected person when the pre-defined period has expired. Include any password or PIN you wish to have. If you don’t want to allow full account access But only share specific files/folders that contain sensitive information. It can be done as well.
You will be notified by SMS and email 1 month before deactivation.
When everything is ready and you go AWOL Google will start sending you multiple notifications. by both text (a phone number is required for the setup process) as well as by Email, one month before the expiration date. Don’t worry: your trusted contacts will not receive any notifications until full-time inactivity is exhausted and deactivation (not deletion) has already occurred.
When the account is deactivated Your trusted contacts will receive an email. (with an extra private message) along with access to what you’ve chosen to share with them.
If you choose to delete your account that person will have 3 months (following deactivation) to access or download any of your data. After that, your account and all content on the Google platform will be completely removed from the cloud.
do not delete account
You can also choose not to have the account deleted after disabling. In which case, the contacts you choose that you share with will have more time to do with them as they want.
It might be helpful to know that although the entire removal process is irreversible. But that email address will never be re-used.
What happens if you never set up an Inactive Account Manager?
Several years ago, Google took the initiative to delete accounts. However, this policy is clearly not ideal. And it has just been changed with the introduction of new rules.
Inactive accounts will be deleted after 2 years.
start June 1, 2021Until then, Google will delete any accounts that have been inactive for 2 years. Nothing will be touched or disabled.
Accounts that exceed the storage limit will be deleted after 2 years.
If you miss any of those monthly payments, Google promises a 7-day grace period with no penalty. So you have time to update your payment information. After that, you’ll lose the ability to send/receive emails in Gmail, upload new files to Google Drive, or sync any photos with Google. Less until you free up space or buy new storage.
If an account exceeds the current storage limit for 2 years again, all content will be deleted.
Can the family of the deceased have access to their Google account?
Google has made it clear that it will not disclose passwords. identity or unauthorized access (Deceased or not) with anyone.
However, Google has some gaps for situations where the decedent’s family needs extra information from the account. Even if the inactive account manager is not set up.
- Close the account of the deceased user.
- Send a request for money from a deceased account.
- Get information from the accounts of deceased users.
if they want “Get information from deceased user accounts”, they will be asked to fill out the following information:
- Full name of the deceased
- deceased person’s email address
- Name of relative/legal representative
- Family name/legal representative
- Relative/legal representative email address
- full address
- date of death
- Select the Google platform you want to access (Gmail, Drive, Google Photos, YouTube, etc.).
- Upload a scan of your government-issued ID card or driver’s license. Death certificate of the deceased and additional documents
If the document is in a language other than English A certified and notarized professional translation in English is required.
Before the form can be submitted, Google also requires requesters to agree that once their initial request has been accepted. They must get a court order issued in the United States. Google promises to “[provide] language required for court orders”
Leave a note…
We at PhoneArena hope that you will never be in a situation where you need to use Google Inactive Account Manager, whether for yourself or for your loved ones.
However, it is always good to have an error prevention system. which if worse is the worst It could put grieving families in more trouble. It’s better to be safe than sorry. And it seems that Google is ready and by your side in this situation.