But not all at once If you do not agree to the new policy at this point, you will start to see additional pop-ups in WhatsApp, summarizing the changes with the big green Accept button at the bottom. If you tap, WhatsApp will continue to share your account information with Facebook. Don̵7;t want to agree at first, you’ll be able to hit the back arrow in the top-left corner of the overlay. However, over time, pop-ups will appear more often. In the end, you won’t be able to click away at all, and the app’s functionality will start to decline.
WhatsApp originally stated in February that anyone who rejected the update would immediately lose its functionality, but the company has opted to let the wheels slowly fall out of their cars for weeks before the app plunges into a ditch. And stop working altogether
“Over the past several weeks, we’ve been showing notifications on WhatsApp to provide more information on updates,” the company said in a statement. “After giving everyone time to review, we continue to warn those who haven’t had the opportunity to review them. And accept After several weeks, the notifications people get will eventually become permanent. ”
The strength of the backlash is likely to make WhatsApp neglect as it warns users about existing policies rather than creating new ones. A few days after WhatsApp announced the first change on Jan. 4, messaging app Telegram said it had tens of millions of users and Signal is growing at that. In an effort to get the blood flowing permanently, WhatsApp has delayed the release of all new policies for months to give users more time to learn about the change.